News & Events

Epi Celebrates 2024 SPH Excellence Award Winners 

UW Epi News | May 14, 2024
2 minutes to read

Epi staff and student SPH Excellence Award recipients, from left: Julie Nevins, Alison Wiyeh, Taylor Riley, Julia Schleimer, and Sandra McAteer.

Congratulations to the University of Washington Department of Epidemiology (UW Epi) nominees who were honored at the 2024 UW School of Public Health (SPH) Awards of Excellence and Recognition Ceremony! The SPH Excellence Awards recognize exemplary students, faculty, and staff for their dedication and service to the school.    

The following individuals received 2024 SPH Student, Faculty, and Staff Awards for their contributions to the field of public health and to the University of Washington:

  • Taylor Riley, Epi PhD graduate, received the Gilbert S. Omenn Award for Academic Excellence. 
  • Sandra McAteer, Epi Master’s student, received the SPH Outstanding Master’s Student Award. 
  • Alison Wiyeh, Epi PhD student, received the Student Community Service Award. 
  • Julia Schleimer, Epi PhD student, received the SPH Outstanding PhD Student Award. 
  • Simon Sandh, Assistant Teaching Professor, received the Faculty Teaching Award. 
  • Brandon Guthrie, Associate Professor, received the Faculty Mentorship Award. 
  • Julie Nevins, Epi Systems Analyst, received the SPH Outstanding Staff Award.
  • Grace John-Stewart, Professor, Epidemiology, Global Health, Medicine & Pediatrics, was also recognized through the UW Awards of Excellence with the Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award

Congratulations to all the UW Epi awardees!