School of Public Health

National Alzheimer's Coordinating Center

National Alzheimer's Coordinating Center

 

 

 

The National Alzheimer's Coordinating Center (NACC) was established by the National Institute on Aging/NIH in 1999 to facilitate collaborative research among the 29 NIA-funded Alzheimer's Disease Centers (ADCs) nationwide. NACC developed and maintains a large relational database of standardized clinical and neuropathological research data collected from each ADC, and this database provides a valuable resource for both exploratory and explanatory Alzheimer's disease research. NACC data are freely available to all researchers.

NACC’s principal investigator and founding director, Walter A. Kukull, PhD, is a professor in the Department of Epidemiology, where NACC has been located since its inception. Because of the value of NACC data in the study of Alzheimer’s disease – a major public health concern -- NACC has been continuously funded by the National Institute on Aging/NIH since 1999.

Faculty

Walter A. Kukull, PhD (director), kukull@uw.edu
Charles Mock, MD, PhD (associate director), cmock@uw.edu
S.H. Andrew Zhou, PhD (associate director), azhou@uw.edu
W.T. Longstreth, Jr., MD, MPH (co-investigator), wl@uw.edu

Professional Staff

Nicole Barlow, BS (research consultant), nmbarlow@uw.edu
Duane Beekly, BS (director of computing systems), beekly@uw.edu
Lilah Besser, MSPH (research scientist), lmbesser@uw.edu
Mark Bollenbeck, MS (software engineer), markb24@uw.edu
Maggie Dean, BS (research administrator), connorm@uw.edu
Janene Hubbard, BS (research consultant), janene@uw.edu
Mary Jacka, BS (research consultant), jacka@uw.edu
Elizabeth Robichaud, MA (public information specialist), erobi@uw.edu
George Thomas, MS (software engineer), gcthomas@uw.edu
Simone Wilk, BS (research consultant), swilk@uw.edu
Joylee Wu, MS (database administrator), joyleewu@uw.edu

RA

Willa Brenowitz, Epi PhD candidate